Application Delivery (ADX)

Firmware Upgrade of ADX 1000 from 12.5.02b to 12.5.02m

Hi all,

I am new in Brocade community, and it's just recently i work with Brocade ADX devices.

We would like to ugrade firmware of our Brocade ADX 1000 from 12.5.02b version to 12.5.02m. I would like to know if i can do it directly ?

Does anyone use this version and what is your feedback about it ? Have you met a network or system issue?

And any advice would be great.

Thanks in advance,

Kire

Brocade Moderator

Re: Firmware Upgrade of ADX 1000 from 12.5.02b to 12.5.02m

Hi Kire,

If you log in to my.brocade.com and navigate to ServerIron ADX software you can download the release notes for 12.5.02m, here is an extract.

Upgrading an ADX system with a single management module
(From release 12.1.00x, 12.2.x, 12.3.x or 12.4.00 to release 12.5.02m)
Use the following steps to upgrade all codes on a Brocade ServerIron ADX.

1. Copy the correct Brocade ServerIron ADX software image to a TFTP server.
  2. Use the copy tftp flash command to download the software image to the ServerIron ADX from
    the TFTP server.
    ServerIronADX# copy tftp flash 192.168.1.10 ASM12502m.bin primary
    In the example above the software image is downloaded to flash as “primary”. When the ServerIron ADX reloads, it will boot using the primary image. Optionally, you can download the image as secondary.
  3. Reload the system and the following will automatically occur.
  • The upgraded application image comes up and automatically checks for boot codes and FPGA microcode to determine if they are up‐to‐date.
  • If boot codes or FPGA microcode are not up‐to‐date, the images are automatically upgraded and the ServerIron ADX is automatically reloaded. The upgrade will take somewhere between 2 to 3 minutes depending on your system configuration. Do not reset or power cycle the ServerIron ADX during this time because doing so may cause the ServerIron ADX be unbootable next time.