Ethernet Switches & Routers

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

I already replied to this but I'm not sure where it went.

 

I copied the vlan tagging information from the 7250 and now the 6450 works fine.  Thanks again for all your help.

 

I'm including the "show vlan" and "show fdp neighbors" just in case youre' interested.

 

#show vlan
Total PORT-VLAN entries: 20
Maximum PORT-VLAN entries: 64

Legend: [Stk=Stack-Id, S=Slot]

PORT-VLAN 1, Name MGMT-Switch, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 200, Name Legacy, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: (U1/M1) 1 3 5 7 9 11 13 15 17 19 21 23

Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 210, Name Legacy-Servers, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 3 5 7 9 11 13 15 17 19 21 23
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 24
Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: (U1/M1) 2 4 6 8 10 12 14 16 18 20 22
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 302, Name MGMT-AP, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 308, Name Surveillance, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 310, Name Controls, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 312, Name VOIP, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 314, Name Local_Servers, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 316, Name Lab_1, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 317, Name Lab_2, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 318, Name Lab_3, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 319, Name Lab_4, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 320, Name Lab_5, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 332, Name Staff, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 348, Name Student_Devices, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 364, Name BYOD, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 380, Name Guest, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 396, Name Reserved, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 412, Name Reserved, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12
Tagged Ports: (U1/M1) 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

Tagged Ports: (U1/M2) 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled
PORT-VLAN 4000, Name DEFAULT-VLAN, Priority level0, Spanning tree On
Untagged Ports: None
Tagged Ports: None
Uplink Ports: None
DualMode Ports: None
Mac-Vlan Ports: None
Monitoring: Disabled

 

 

#show fdp neighbors
Capability Codes: R - Router, T - Trans Bridge, B - Source Route Bridge
S - Switch, H - Host, I - IGMP, r - Repeater
(*) indicates a CDP device

Device ID Local Interface Holdtm Capblty Platform PortID
-------------- --------------- ------ ------- --------- ------
DO_DP_Office_Clay ethernet1/1/24 157 Switch ICX6450-C12 ethernet1/2/1
DO_Core_ICX6610_2 ethernet1/2/1 148 Router ICX6610-24P ethernet1/3/2

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

I've replied to this twice and each time it's disappeared after posting.  Testing for the 3rd time.

Contributor
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎07-20-2015

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

I have had that happen before, too... But I DO see the post about disappearing posts.

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

So I'm not crazy.

 

I got the switch to work by tagging all the 6450 ports with all the vlans and untagging the port on the 7250 that my wall plate is connected to.

 

I can still supply the show commands you asked for if you still want to see them

 

And many many thanks for all your help.

Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

Sorry, follow up question.

 

The ports on my 6450 are working the way I want them to.  1-10 are vlan 10 and 11-12 are vlan 20.  If I connect my laptop to any of those ports, I pull a dynamic IP address from the correct vlan so yay.  But if I connect an unconfigured new out-of-the-box Brocade ICX 6450 (so I can prep it) to one of those ports, it ERR_DISABLEs the port instead of pulling a dynamic IP address like I would expect it to.

 

I tried untagging the port on the configured 6450 and it stays up but the new 6450 doesn't pull a dynamic IP address and isn't pingable if I set a static IP address.

 

Obviously I'm still not getting this.  Any easy explanations?

 

 

Highlighted
Brocade Moderator
Posts: 77
Registered: ‎02-04-2015

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

Since you can't ping the switch when setting the IP statically explains why you it doesn't get an IP address Dynamically.

 

I assume it is the management interface on the new 6540 you are connecting.

 

Could you provide the running config of the new switch along with "show mac address" from both switches. We also need the IP address you are piniging from and a traceroute if it applicable?

 

Regards,

Os

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers.

All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution" .
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

I was using the managment interface to connect to the switch via serial.  I had my 6450 connected to the 7250 using port 1/2/1.

 

Here's the edited "show run" from the 7250 I'm connecting to:

 

#show run
Current configuration:
!
ver 08.0.30T211
!
stack unit 1
module 1 icx7250-24p-poe-port-management-module
module 2 icx7250-sfp-plus-8port-80g-module
!
!
!
!
vlan 1 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/24 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/8
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
vlan 200 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/24 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/8
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
vlan 210 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/24 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/8
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
vlan 4000 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
default-vlan-id 4000
ip address 10.211.0.71 255.255.254.0
ip default-gateway 10.211.0.1
!
!
interface ethernet 1/1/24
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-pt2pt-mac
no flow-control both
!
interface ethernet 1/2/1
port-name Connect to Core
!
end

 

And here's the edited "show run" from my 6450 (I was trying to connect the 2nd 6450 from it's 1/2/1 port to my 1/1/9 port with essentially the same configuration on both 6450s):

 

#show run
Current configuration:
!
ver 08.0.30kT311
!
stack unit 1
module 1 icx6450c-12pd-port-management-module
module 2 icx6450c-copper-2port-2g-module
module 3 icx6450c-fiber-2port-2g-module
!
!
!
!
vlan 1 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/12 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/2 ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/2
spanning-tree 802-1w
management-vlan
default-gateway 10.211.0.1 1
!
vlan 200 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/12 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/2 ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/2
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
vlan 210 
tagged ethe 1/1/1 to 1/1/12 ethe 1/2/1 to 1/2/2 ethe 1/3/1 to 1/3/2
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
vlan 4000 name DEFAULT-VLAN by port
spanning-tree 802-1w
!
default-vlan-id 4000
!

ip address 10.211.0.241 255.255.254.0
!

interface ethernet 1/1/1
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
inline power power-by-class 3
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/2
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
inline power power-by-class 3
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/3
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
inline power power-by-class 3
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/4
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
no spanning-tree
inline power power-by-class 3
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/5
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/6
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/7
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/8
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/9
port-name *** UpLink
no spanning-tree
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/10
port-name .200 network
dual-mode 200
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/11
port-name .210 network
dual-mode 210
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/1/12
port-name .210 network
dual-mode 210
spanning-tree 802-1w admin-edge-port
stp-bpdu-guard
!
interface ethernet 1/2/1
port-name Connect to IDF
!
end

 

 

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-09-2011

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

Can you post the ERR disable log output?

As well as more of the config from the 7250 to try and understand why it is going in that ERR Disable state?
Contributor
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎01-26-2016

Re: Using an ICX 6450 as a desktop switch

Not at the moment.  I finished the configuration I needed to do and I no longer have any spare switches to play with.

 

Thanks to everybody for all their help.

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.