Mainframe & FICON

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-20-2015
Accepted Solution

Configure SAN384B director for FICON

Hello All,

 

 I have never worked on Mainframe and FICON earlier. Though I have worked on FC for same switches. 

 

Now we have a new infrastructure wherein we have to configure SAN384B(DCX-4s) director with two SAN768B(DCX) 48 port 16Gbps blades for FICON.  As I said I am new to this so not sure if their would be some different configuration that I have to do for on this director for FICON

 

Could anyone please help me with configuration document for this.

 

Configuration:-

 

DS8886 ---- >SAN384B(DCX-4s) director---->Z System.

 

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,862
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

amgupta0@in.ibm.com

 

there are several setting to made in order to configure a switch for FICON,

 

basically and mandatory

 

1) you must have Qualified FOS for FICON

2) Recommended Best Practices is to create a new logical switch dedicated for FICON

3) HCD should be set mor eindicate is 2032

4) VF must be Enable

 

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

Hello Antonio,

 

Thanks for your reply.

 

basically and mandatory

 

1) you must have Qualified FOS for FICON

 

I will check that, I think 7.4.1c should be fine.

 

2) Recommended Best Practices is to create a new logical switch dedicated for FICON

 

We will use this director only for FICON.

 

3) HCD should be set mor eindicate is 2032.

 

Not sure about this. I will have to check.

 

4) VF must be Enable.

 

Yes, I will keep it enable.

 

But other than this all other configration are simlar like FC switchs.

 

Like Zoning and other things.

 

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

Hi

 

 How to enter into HCD mode to configure:

 

a) Switch ID in hex same as that of domain ID.

b) Switch Type to 2032

c) Switch address

 

I have been reading about this but didn't get anything concreate.

 

External Moderator
Posts: 4,862
Registered: ‎02-23-2004

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

amgupta0@in.ibm.com

 

I would suggest you review Planning and Implementation Guide

 

here is a IBM Redbooks

 

http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redbooks/pdfs/sg246497.pdf

 

FOS 7.4.1c - if I remember correct - is not FICON Quilified.

 

 

 

 

TechHelp24
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

Thanks Antonio..Yes from past one days I have been reading this guide...Many of my questions are are already answered by this pdf..

 

It is of great help..thank you..

 

Moreover I see.. for FICON we have to do Port based zoning ...

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎02-20-2015

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

Hello Antonio,

 

As I specified earlier that, we would be using two 48 ports Blade. Now Mainframe team needs port Numbers on which DS8k and ZSystems are conncted.  In this case few of the ports will login to Port 0, 1 and so on for Slot 1 and few on Port 0, 1 and so on for Slot 2 of respective Blades.  In this case do I need to share Slot no/Port no(which I don't think) or do i need to share Index number?

Brocade Moderator
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎08-31-2009

Re: Configure SAN384B director for FICON

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

Port ID is needed.

Any and all information provided by me is not reviewed, approved or endorsed by Brocade and is provided solely as a convenience for Brocade customers. All systems and all networks are different and unique. If you have a service affecting network problem, please open a TAC service request for service through Brocade, or through your OEM equipment provider. If this provided you with a solution to this issue, please mark it with the button at the bottom "Accept as solution"

Join the Community

Get quick and easy access to valuable resource designed to help you manage your Brocade Network.